June 2015

First Annual Harbor-UCLA Research Day Winners:
1st Prize – Ted Gifford, Junior Chief Resident
2nd Prize – Brian MacLaughlin, Research Resident

Congratulations and farewell to our graduating class!
Bryan Goldner – Surgical Oncology fellowship, City of Hope
Andrew Li – Plastic Surgery fellowship, UCLA
Carrie Luu – Surgical Oncology fellowship, Moffitt Cancer Center
Sam Schwartz – Vascular Surgery fellowship, Massachusetts General
Judy Wang – Minimally Invasive Surgery, Methodist Hospital, Houston

picture of a hotel

June 2016

Second Annual Harbor-UCLA Department of Surgery Research Symposium Winners:

1st Prize- Dr. Jennifer Williams

2nd Prize- Dr. Michael O’ Leary

Congratulations and farewell to our graduating class!

Edward Gifford, MD- Vascular Surgery Fellowship, Mayo Clinic, Rochester

Andrew Nguyen, MD- Surgical Critical Care & Acute Care Surgery, University of Maryland Medical Center

Brian Nguyen, MD- Bariatric Surgery Fellowship, Harvard Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center.

Veronica Sullins, MD- Pediatric Surgery Fellowship, Children’s Hospital of Wisconsin

April 2016

Harbor-UCLA Surgery had an outstanding representation at the Southwestern Surgical Congress (SWSC) meeting in San Diego. We had three podium presentations (Ben Pham, Jess Keeley, Kyle Mock), three quick shot presentations (Aaron Parrish {two} and Eric Tamrazian) and one poster (Jon William). Congratulations to all!

March 2016

We are proud to announce Dr. Christine Dauphine as the Vice Chair of Surgical Education and Dr. Brant Putnam as the Vice Chair of Clinical Affairs in the Department of Surgery.

Harbor-UCLA’s Department of Surgery held the first medical student boot camp. The medical students were able to gain some potentially lifesaving skills in this powerful 2 week session.

dr christian de virgilio profile image

February 2016

Dr. Christian de Virgilio has been appointed as the permanent Chair of the Department of Surgery. In addition, Dr. Beverley Petrie has been appointed as the Associate Chair. We are so fortunate to have two highly exceptional surgeons as our Chair and Associate Chair.

January 2016

Dr. Colonya Calhoun has been appointed as Interim Chief, Division of Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery.

October 2015

Interview Dates for the 2016-2017 General Surgery Residency Match will be December 2 and December 9, 2015. Applications must be completed through ERAS.
Congratulations to our Chief Residents on their Fellowship matches:

Ted Gifford – Vascular Surgery at Mayo Clinic, Rochester, Minnesota
Ronnie Sullins – Pediatric Surgery at Children’s Hospital of Wisconsin
Andrew Nguyen – Trauma and Critical Care at University of Maryland Shock Trauma
Brian Nguyen – Bariatric Surgery at Harvard’s Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center

May 2015

Congratulations to Dr. Michael O’Leary who just won the UCLA Excellence in Teaching with Humanism Residents and Fellows Award. This is the second year in a row that a Harbor-UCLA Surgery Resident has won this award.

April 2015

Dr. Dennis Kim was nominated for the 2015 UCLA Exceptional Physician Award. Congratulations Dr. Kim!

March 2015

Congratulations to Dr. Isaac Yang, Neurosurgeon, who was recently honored by the American Medical Student Association with its National Golden Apple Award for Teaching Excellence.

The First Annual Harbor-UCLA Resident Research Day will be held in Parlow Auditorium on June 10, 2015. Abstract deadline: May 11th